musik singles, top chart hits
check die deutschen Single Charts!

Album: Sinatra at the Sands

Sinatra At The Sands is a 1966 live album by Frank Sinatra, accompanied by Count Basie and his Orchestra, conducted and arranged by Quincy Jones, recorded live at the Copa Room of the Sands Hotel and Casino in Las Vegas. It was Sinatra’s first live album to be commercially released and contains many definitive readings of the songs that are most readily associated with Sinatra. Sinatra and Basie had previously collaborated on 1962′s Sinatra-Basie and 1964′s It Might As Well Be Swing, with both albums released on Sinatra’s Reprise label. Allmusic review: In many ways, Sinatra At The Sands is the definitive portrait of Frank Sinatra in the ’60s. Recorded in April of 1966, At The Sands is the first commercially released live Frank Sinatra album, recorded at a relaxed Las Vegas club show. For these dates at the Sands, Sinatra worked with Count Basie and his orchestra, which was conducted by Quincy Jones. Like any of his concerts, the material was fairly predictable, with his standard show numbers punctuated by some nice surprises. Throughout the show, Sinatra is in fine voice, turning in a particularly affecting version of “Angel Eyes.” He is also in fine humor, constantly joking with the audience and the band, as well as delivering an entertaining, if rambling, monologue halfway through the album. Some of the humor has dated poorly, appearing insensitive, but that sentiment cannot be applied to the music. Basie and the orchestra are swinging and dynamic, inspiring a textured, dramatic, and thoroughly enjoyable performance from Sinatra. Track listing 01 -- “Come Fly With Me” (Sammy Cahn, Jimmy Van Heusen) – 3:48 02 -- “I’ve Got A Crush On You” (George Gershwin, Ira Gershwin) – 2:44 03 -- “I’ve Got You Under My Skin” (Cole Porter) – 3:46 04 -- “The Shadow Of Your Smile” (Johnny Mandel, Paul Francis Webster) – 2:33 05 -- “Street Of Dreams” (Victor Young, Sam M. Lewis) – 2:18 06 -- “One For My Baby (And One More For The Road)” (Harold Arlen, Johnny Mercer) – 4:47 07 -- “Fly Me To The Moon” (Bart Howard) – 2:50 08 -- “One O’Clock Jump” (Instrumental) (Count Basie) – 0:55 09 -- “The Tea Break” (Sinatra Monologue) – 11:54 10 -- “You Make Me Feel So Young” (Mack Gordon, Josef Myrow) – 3:17 11 -- “All Of Me” (Instrumental) (Gerald Marks, Seymour Simons) – 3:17 12 -- “The September Of My Years” (Cahn, Van Heusen) – 2:58 13 -- “Get Me To The Church On Time” (Frederick Loewe, Alan Jay Lerner) – 2:23 14 -- “It Was A Very Good Year” (Ervin Drake) – 4:04 15 -- “Don’t Worry ‘Bout Me” (Rube Bloom, Ted Koehler) – 3:21 16 -- “Makin’ Whoopee!” (Walter Donaldson, Gus Kahn) – 4:37 17 -- “Where Or When” (Richard Rodgers, Lorenz Hart) – 2:58 18 -- “Angel Eyes” (Earl Brent, Matt Dennis) – 3:28 19 -- “My Kind Of Town” (Cahn, Van Heusen) – 3:06 20 -- “A Few Last Words” (Sinatra Monologue) – 2:33 21 -- “My Kind Of Town” (Reprise) – 0:59 Personnel Frank Sinatra – vocals Count Basie – piano Bill Miller – piano The Count Basie Orchestra Quincy Jones – arranger, conductor Harry “Sweets” Edison – trumpets Al Aarons Sonny Cohn Wallace Davenport Phil Guilbeau Al Grey – trombones Henderson Chambers Grover Mitchell Bill Hughes Marshall Royal – alto saxophone Bobby Plater Eric Dixon – tenor saxophone Eddie “Lockjaw” Davis Charlie Fowlkes – baritone saxophone Freddie Green – guitar Norman Keenan – double bass Sonny Payne – drums Album notes Released: July 1966 Recorded: January 1966 and February 1966 Genre: Vocal Jazz, Classic Pop Length: 72:36 (mono) Producer: Sonny Burke User-contributed text is available under the Creative Commons By-SA License; additional terms may apply.

music download flatrate